Mike’s Dump

April 20, 2005

My Dream Job

Filed under: Work — mikesdump @ 1:17 pm

My dream job would have the working hours of 10 am to 2 pm Monday to Friday. In that time I would walk around talking to people seeing how things are going (work or otherwise). When I’m finished doing my rounds, if there is time, maybe I would do some RnD into some new
technology that may help with current projects, can be used with future projects or are just plain cool. The value that I would hope to add to
that organization is to try to ensure that people have what they need to be happy and successful. I would also try to create the culture
where people wanted to achieve excellence and relied on each other to do that. Did I mention that I would have to be paid really well so that
I can provide everything my family wants?

I am guessing that this type of position doesn’t exist. If this dream is to become reality I’m going to have to create it myself. I’ve always
envisioned having my own company someday. Of course the company would be IT focused but I really don’t have the product idea. I do know I
don’t want anything too big (10 – 30 staff sounds right). Providing an online service or shrink-wrapped software would probably be the best bet for this. IT consulting would be too much of a headache.

How do I get from where I am today to where I want to be? In reality I guess the only thing stopping me is myself (and the product idea). I
could argue that I need more experience in this or in that but I get the feeling it is kind of like when Sandy and I decided to have kids; there is never going to be a perfect time. We knew it is something we both wanted to do in our lives and we took the chance. The kids haven’t tried to run away or have been taken away so we probably aren’t doing that badly.

Time to start thinking about a product!

1 Comment »

  1. A fellow developer from Geomatics is now starting to blog.  Mike and I have a lot of similar ideas…

    Comment by Fire in the Hole — April 21, 2005 @ 6:36 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

