Mike’s Dump

May 2, 2005

Geeks will find a way

Filed under: Code — mikesdump @ 12:28 pm

It does matter what it is, somewhere two geeks are out there debating VI vs. emacs, SuSE vs. Red Hat, IE vs. FireFox, J2EE vs. .NET, Alien
vs. Preditor, you name it is being debated. I think for the most part the debates aren’t about someone trying to convince another that their
way of thinking/tool is better but the purpose is simply to debate. Me, I say let the market decide. If the idea/tool makes sense or serves
some sort of purpose it will be survive. Does it really matter which is better? Or is it more important that you are happy with the choice that
you make?

Today I started to read “The Rebuttal” to another C# vs. VB article. Normally I stay clear of these because they are completely pointless. Nothing will be resolved with an article like this. Developers are going to feel strongly one way or another or they will sit on the fence. Me, I sit on the fence in this case because I like both languages and I’m content coding in either. I took a quick peek at the rebuttal and ended up looking at the C# “side”. Both were well written articles but I still am thinking, what a waste of time.

At my last job I worked on a VB 6 product team for about two years (started there in 2000). At that company there was probably a couple
hundred developers at the peek and VB developers were the minority (maybe 20). There was a large population of C++ and Java developers.
Once a year when it came time for personal reviews which management and some senior developers were gathered to rank all developers to see if they should be re-classified. My team lead at the time told me that one of the attending senior developers felt that the VB developers
shouldn’t be classified as developers at all because VB isn’t a “real” programming language. I think it was shortly after that point I started to evaluate my position in the company. I was getting tired of the product that I was working on and wanted to know what it was like to work in a “real” programming language. With the support of my boss I made the switch to Java (with no working experience). Now it took me a couple of days to figure out what was going on in the 4000 class project (which was about 10% done at the time) but imagine this, I was able read, understand and code on the team which I was assigned. I wasn’t a complete idiot like all VB developers are suppose to be right 🙂

The company ran into financial difficultly and after 1 1/2 years of working without a regular paycheck I left for where I am today. Back there it was the debate between VB and Java. I guess the arrogance of some of the developers got to me so I said, “if you can’t beat them join them”. Fast forward to today, in the industry we see the same arrogance in some C# developers as the Java developers back at my old job. I wonder if carpenters debate which is the best hammer to use and mock each other for their different choices. Maybe they are smart enough to realize if the time is taken to build something well they can use whatever hammer they want. Or maybe the guys that prefer nails guns go around shooting the guys that still use a hammer, what the hell do I know.

2 Comments »

  1. People are not substituting Merry Christmas with “screw you moron I hope you drown in eggnog and I told your kids I shot Santa”.

    Comment by Mike's Dump — December 18, 2005 @ 2:01 pm | Reply

  2. That’s right folks, Mike’s Dump turned one year old today. My very
    first post was an exciting one if…

    Comment by Mike's Dump — March 26, 2006 @ 8:48 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

