Mike’s Dump

May 14, 2005

When no does not mean no

Filed under: Home — mikesdump @ 7:21 am

Erika is just under two years old and her vocabulary is increasing on a
daily basis but for some reason she doesn’t like to use the word “yes”.
Any yes/no question I ask her she responds with no but she says it
differently. I started to think about the different ways she says no
and I think I finally figured it out.

Short No This is usually mean no. “No, stop trying to put food in my mouth”
Long No with whine This whiny no is like Isabelle’s no
when she doesn’t want to go to bed. With Erika this usually means “Yes,
why don’t you know that already”
Long No and run away This again is back to no but there can be an exception to this. “No, I don’t want my diaper changed”
Long No, run but check if I’m following Another
yes. She seems to do this when I ask if she wants a bottle. As she is
running away saying no she will make sure that I’m behind her actually
getting a bottle.

Programming is nothing compared to this stuff.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

