Mike’s Dump

June 1, 2005

What a week!

Filed under: Uncategorized — mikesdump @ 12:02 pm

I’ve survived through Wednesday!

I’ve been thinking to myself that for having last week off it is
amazing how quickly a person can get right back into the swing of
things. In the case of this “swing” it wasn’t the greatest. In the 8
years that I have been in development I don’t think I’ve ever seen so
many issues come up on a production system within two days. Some of
them were pretty minor others aren’t.

The fun on Monday and Tuesday caught up with on Tuesday night. I fell
asleep last night around 10:00 pm but woke up at 1:30 am. I tossed and
turned, three hours passed and I had enough. I got up had a shower. I
fired up the laptop and I think I sent about 10 emails between 5 and 6
am. I got on my bus just after 6 and went to work. I left work early
and got home at about 1:30. I answered emails for another hour and I
was caught up (at least I think so), that felt great.

I’m pretty sure that I have some sort of undiagnosed mental disorder
and I could probably come up with a list of people that agree with that
J For as long as I can remember I have had this obsession that once
starting a task I have to complete it. I’m not really sure if it is an
obsession or just stubbornness. I’ll sit through a movie that I
think is horrible to see the end (there has been a couple exceptions).
On several occasions I’ve stayed up all night to finish a game. I’ve
spent sleepless nights trying to solve a programming issue. Last year
as a team we went on a weekend canoe trip. At the end of the first day
I was tired and sore but ready and willing for the next day. I woke up
even more tired (thunder stormed overnight) and sore. It hurt badly
just to sit in the canoe. Midway through the day it started to rain on
us in the river. Not just rain but pour. The only way you could have
got me off the river was if we started getting large hail. I had to
finish the trip!

With the change in my role over the past year to a lead my challenges
have changed. Different things keep me awake: delivering quality,
managing expectations, and meeting timelines. The main challenge for me
comes in ensuring all tasks are moving forward and nothing is getting
dropped. I want them all completed of course 🙂 Thinking about this now
I probably am doing a pretty lousy job of delegation and still doing
too much myself. I am also not relying on our PM as much as I should
either (something to work on).

The week off really gave me the ability to look at the issues as
challenges again instead of problems. Time off is good but and having a
manager that has always taken the time to listen to me, give advice,
and fight for change has helped me keep it to just the one undiagnosed
mental disorder. If I can become half the manager he is I be a lot
better than some of my previous managers. Thanks MM

1 Comment »

  1. This is what it is all about. This is why I attack shampoo bottles
    without fear. This is why I can be…

    Comment by Mike's Dump — June 19, 2005 @ 2:22 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

