Mike’s Dump

August 11, 2005

Align your beliefs for success at any level

Filed under: Links — mikesdump @ 11:28 am

I read this interesting post
this morning over at Management Craft. In the article it contained a
list of beliefs that the author suggested you align yourself to. The
idea being small adjustments in thinking will contribute to your
success. While reading these beliefs it occurred to me that there is no
reason they would apply just to management.

I’ve had a lot of crappy jobs but even at my worst job ever there were
opportunities to produce results, role model excellence, and be
coachable. Producing results is a no brainer at a meat packing plant
when you’re just a grunt. Producing results in combination with role
modeling excellence sets you apart from the rest. Paying attention to
details when cutting, minimizing waste and working faster are probably
the majority of things you can do to make yourself standout in a crowd
in a position like that.

Being coachable is important at any position but at Lillydale you were
considered a newbie probably for the first five years (most people I
talked to had been there 10-20 years) and everyone felt they had
something to teach. Well, the people that were capable of more than
simple grunts and groans had something to teach. No one person has all
the answers and the people that think they do are only fooling
themselves.

Without realizing it at the time I did the things that I mentioned
above and I was recognized for it. There wasn’t a lot of ways that
people were rewarded at Lillydale other then being put on “Class A”
jobs (which meant an extra 60 cents/hour� kick ass right? I think the
change in work was the bigger reward). There were a few times that I
was put on the “Class A” job because of how I did my job. That all
changed when someone on the union that had two weeks more seniority
than me (and worked at half my speed) complained. I was removed from
the job but told the reason why (one of the mainly reasons that I don’t
like unions). It didn’t bother me that much because I knew I was
recognized for the work that I was doing.

Individual success normally has very little to do with what you do and
everything to do with how you do it. You can have a really high profile
position as a brain surgeon performing only the most complicated
surgeries but if all of your patients die would you be considered a
success? I would hope not. On the other side if you were the person
responsible for sterilizing the medical instruments and never had
someone become infected from improperly cleaned equipment would you not
be more successful than the brain surgeon? What ever your position is
align your beliefs for success!

  • Middle managers are expected to be accountable and take ownership. (Translation: I am expected to be accountable and take ownership.)
  • Middle Managers are expected to make a positive contribution to the business. (Translation: I am expected to make a positive contribution to the business � not just maintain stuff.)
  • Middle managers should be outstanding role models because they influence the culture and tone of the business. (Translation � I need to role model excellence, period.)
  • Middle managers need to get results. (Translation � I need to produce results!)
  • Good managers are responsive to others’ ideas and concerns. (Translation � I can only be successful when I am highly coachable and responsive � I don’t have all, or even most, of the answers!)
  • Being a middle manager is a key role. (Translation � I have an important job to do.)
  • Management
    is a social as well as business function. (Translation � Management
    occurs in conversation, so to manage well, I need to dialogue well.)
  • Flexible and nimble teams are more successful. (Translation � I
    need to ensure that my team is in the loop, primed, and ready to
    respond to changes.)
  • Success means delivering results and managing people for optimal
    productivity and satisfaction. (Translation � I need to create an
    environment where people can and will choose to do their best work.)
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

