Mike’s Dump

August 21, 2005

69, dudes. Whoa!

Filed under: Uncategorized — mikesdump @ 2:38 pm

[Bill and Ted meet themselves]
Ted: OK wait. If you guys are really us, what number are we thinking of?
Bill, Ted: 69, dudes.
Bill, Ted: Whoa.

Yeah! This is my 69th post. To mark this milestone I was going to write
something deep and meaningful. Something that would make people laugh
and cry, something that would change the world. After thinking for all
of five minutes I realized that I had nothing so the plan changed to
why I blog and what’s next?

When I started blogging I had absolutely no plan or goals. Even now I
wouldn’t say that I have a plan. The name that I picked for my blog,
Mike’s Dump summed up what I thought my blog would be about. My blog
would be a place for me to do a brain dump on whatever came to mind
whether it is good or bad.

I find it a lot easier to write when I’m a little fired up which is why
several of my posts are me venting about something or someone. This
venting helps me relax the same way that programming does (or coffee
and Friday lunches). The benefits to blogging over coding are it
doesn’t take as long to write a post compared to programming. When I
code I’m just trying to put whatever is bothering out of my mind
instead of facing it head on. I probably could get the same mental
release by simply writing in a diary but I couldn’t find a book with a
built in spellchecker.

Something interesting I have found over the past few months is many
times I discover how I feel about the topic while I’m writing. For
example I’ve wanted to write this post for a longtime but haven’t
thought about why I blog until today. Self-discovery is one of the
unexpected benefits that I have gained by blogging. And yes, when I’m
making a self-discovery both of my hands are on the keyboard in case
you were wondering.

Going forward, I think Mike’s dump will always be a dumping ground for
whatever is grinding my gears though I have been giving much thought
about blogging on other topics. I haven’t decided if I’ll add the posts
here under a different category or maybe start a new blog altogether.
Odds are against me writing on the finer points agriculture but some
combination between writing about what I know and what I don’t know to
provide an opportunity to learn something new is what I want to try.

A post that I read not too long ago that I thought was amazing was show
don’t tell. The author wanted to communicate one idea; “A good team
leader provides inspiration by setting a positive example”. It may
sound cheesy but I was inspired after seeing how the author expanded
this one idea into a four-hundred word story. In coding terms I saw the
story like using a design pattern to solve a programming problem
compared to using the dreaded “GOTO”. I would like to improve my
written communication to that same elegance.

Well, Erika is screaming so there must be some fluff in her toes. Time to go rescue her.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

