Mike’s Dump

September 5, 2005

Pro-gram-ing

Filed under: Code — mikesdump @ 2:28 am

It feels like forever since I’ve written anything. I have been
preoccupied for the past couple of weeks with this strange but somewhat
familiar form of written communication called pro-gram-ing. Programming
is also sometimes also referred to as “coding”.

I have been bouncing back and forth between two applications. The first
application requires some fairly simple modifications to a VB.NET
application that adds data to our database (introducing a few new
fields). What has been great about this code is there are existing unit
tests so I have been able to whip through the changes and run my tests
to make sure I didn’t break anything.

The second application is a Java application that works on a few
different models of Motorola phones. These changes have been a little
more challenging because there hasn’t been any safety net of
pre-existing unit tests. This application was in need of some serious
help, I believe the technical term is FUBAR. That isn’t completely fair
because for the most part the application was doing what it was suppose
to. I originally went in to do a small change and investigate a defect.
The more I looked the more defects I found (some of them requiring
large structural changes). The only thing that allowed me to get it
done in a reasonable amount of time was the re-factoring support of
Eclipse.

With the experiences over the past couple of weeks there has been all
kinds of topics that I’ve wanted to write about but haven’t had the
time. Topics like: If you re-factor half the application is it is
re-factoring or rewriting? The million and one reasons why Eclipse is
better than Visual Studio .NET. Why hard-coding and recompiling is less
appealing than using an API call that can replace the hard-coding
altogether. Those topics unfortunately will have to wait. There has
been a break in the rain and my lawn is looking scary.

1 Comment »

  1. Ouch! Sorry to hear of the struggles. I would call that re-writing, BTW. šŸ˜‰

    Comment by Justice — September 6, 2005 @ 9:40 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

