Mike’s Dump

September 10, 2005

Sulley Please Come Back

Filed under: Uncategorized — mikesdump @ 2:52 am

Jealously is a horrible thing. I’ve been spending a lot of time with
Dell lately. Late nights, early mornings, breakfast, lunch and supper
sometimes. Dell goes with me everywhere. I’m convinced with all the
extra time that I’ve spent with Dell over the past few weeks Sulley
became jealous. This jealously reached its peak about a week ago
getting so bad that Sulley isn’t communicating with me anymore. Sulley,
my Toshiba laptop which has been my primary computer for the past two
years, won’t boot up.

I had bought the extended warranty on my laptop assuming that if
anything went wrong I could just take it in, it would be fixed and life
would be good. I bought it hoping like any other type of insurance that
I would never need to use it. When Sulley (named after a character from
Mosters Inc because it is big and blue) would no longer boot up I
thought at least I have a year left on my warranty.

I dug up my warranty information and phoned Best Buy. That initial
phone call should have been my first indication of what the customer
service would be like. I listened to the first 3 options on the
automated response and pressed 3. Listened to 7 more options and
pressed 7. Three more options and I pushed the final option
(interesting that it was always the last option). Satisfied that I
successfully navigated the phone options the phone began to ring. Ring
and ring and ring� the phone rang at least twenty times so I hung up. I
was frustrated to begin with because my laptop wasn’t working and now
the company that is supposed to give me support doesn’t answer their
phone.

I phoned back and instead of going through the customer service/repair
option I push the computer sales option. Hmmm, someone picks up on the
first ring. I explain the situation and they transfer me over to the
same department that didn’t bother to answer my call the first time but
this time I got through. I explain one more time my problem and they
said, yep sounds like a hardware issue bring it on in. Before I hung up
the phone I asked what the turn around time would be and I was told
about one week.

Almost a week later I phoned in again (through the same painful set of
options) with no success on the first attempt. Instead of hanging up
after 20-25 rings I waited and was sent back to the last menu and where
I pushed the same option again. Ten more rings and I get a hold of
someone (seemed like they like the phone as much as I do). When I
inform the person that I dropped off my laptop last week and I wanted
to know its status the response I got was laughter. That’s right, they
laughed at me because I wanted to know how my laptop was doing after
nearly a week. I wasn’t all that amused so in a very serious tone I
said I was told it should be done within a week. The guy on the other
end managed to stop laughing and said sorry sir we have so many
computers to work on that there is a two week waiting period before
they can even get to my computer.

I was thinking about the phone call afterwards. The first guy on the
phone tells me about a week (I think he was a salesperson) and the guy
doing the actual work says bare minimum two weeks. Wow, does that
situation ever sound familiar.

Being the customer in this experience I would have been disappointed if
I was told in the beginning it would be a minimum of two weeks before
my computer would be looked at. But if I was told the realistic time up
front my expectations would have been set properly. Even if they do
complete the repairs to my satisfaction what I will remember the most
is that I was told a week but that estimate wasn’t even close.

The moral of the story isn’t to set realistic customer expectations up
front. It isn’t to make sure the people doing the work give the
estimates. The more of the story is you should never ignore your
computer. If you choose to make sure you get a backup before they leave
you otherwise they don’t take half of what you put into the
relationship they take it all!

3 Comments »

  1. I had a similar situation with my VAIO about a year back or so…took it to SOny, who told me that I might get the comptuer abck within a month (!!) I’m rarely if ever that aggressive but something about teh slack-assed ness about this led me to put on the "angry government voice" I inherited from my father. Computer was repaired within about a week…of course, I called twice in that time to see progress. No one messes w/ my livelihood! 😉

    -J

    Comment by Justice — September 12, 2005 @ 8:47 am | Reply

  2. I was just waiting for someone to answer the phone so I could start yelling. If I was there in person I would probably go all Steve Balmer on them

    Comment by Mike's Dump — September 15, 2005 @ 6:36 pm | Reply

  3. The title of this post is the name of a song by Green Day from the
    American Idiot album. This is my…

    Comment by Mike's Dump — September 30, 2005 @ 9:52 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

