Mike’s Dump

September 15, 2005

Missing the Point

Filed under: Uncategorized — mikesdump @ 2:04 pm

I read this the other day and I had to shake my head. I think it is great that the Canadian government is talking about introducing a do-not-call list like the USA has but when you start reading the exceptions the entire purpose is lost.

These include exceptions for charities, political parties, polling companies, and businesses with existing business relationships

Most of the “spam” phone calls that I get are from either charities or companies that I already deal with that are trying to get more of my money. Sandy and I donate to different charities over the year but I never give to a charity that phones me. We gave to a charity once over the phone and they started calling us twice as much.
I’m still waiting for someone to come out with a system that I can program in what phone numbers I want to accept calls from. Anything else would get routed to an answering machine without ringing my phone. It would have to work without the phone ringing because those people don’t give up until you answer!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

