Mike’s Dump

September 15, 2005

One or more files from the Emulator for Windows CE installation is missing

Filed under: Uncategorized — mikesdump @ 11:36 am

I have been trying to do some work on a CE.NET application using the emulator and ran across a problem. When I attempted to launch the emulator I would receive the following error:
Emulator for Windows CE
One or more files from the Emulator for Windows CE installation is missing.
Please reinstall Emulator for Windows CE and try again.

I’m using XP SP2, VS.NET 2003, on a Dell D610 (Pentium M). My VS.NET (2003) installation is quite recent but I attempted the installation repair option anyways. This changed nothing. After a little bit of digging I came across a couple knowledge base articles
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;883989
This one wasn’t my particular issue but it had a link to the following article:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/891667/
This page had a few different instructions but didn’t actually try them. I opened my boot.ini and added the /NoExecute=AlwaysOff option. I found this on another page but I don’t remember where.
Later I found that /execute = /NoExecute=AlwaysOff at http://www.sysinternals.com/Information/bootini.html so following the above instructions would have worked for me.
After a reboot I tried again and my emulator started working.
This link describes the different settings for DEP in the boot.ini. Based on what I read disabling this feature is a potential security risk because it attempts to protect from buffer overflows.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/875352

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

