Mike’s Dump

September 28, 2005

Wake me up when September ends

Filed under: Uncategorized — mikesdump @ 2:34 pm

The title of this post is the name of a song by Green Day from the
American Idiot album. This is my song of the day. Correction, it has
been my song for the month.

I’ve complained about the service I’ve received on my laptop here and
here. I thought it was about time to phone again to get an update. I
was extremely excited to actually get someone that answered the phone
within the first couple of rings. The answer I received on the progress
of my laptop is more inline with what I have come to expect. The quote,
“I know that the laptop was received [by the company repairing it] but
I have no idea when it will be completed. When we get it back we will
call you”.

Using my extended warranty to have my laptop fixed has been like a
going to see a bad movie that has been hyped up to be the next Oscar
winner. You have high hopes the movie is worth your time and money.
When you get to the movie it starts ok. You sit and wait for it to get
better and live up to the hype but it deteriorates. Just when you think
it can’t get any worse the hidden ankle and wrist restraints come out
and bind you to the chair. A dark figure slowly comes into focus on the
screen and you hear “hey buuuudy”. Oh, yeah, it is a cameo appearance
from Pauly Shore! You can’t get out. You can’t plug your ears or gouge
out your eyes. You must sit and wait for the end. Knowing that the end
has to come sooner or later you just hope you can hold on without
incurring any permanent mental trauma.

The laptop phone call was pretty minor. I didn’t stress at all over it and it isn’t why I’m waiting for September to end.

We bought a digital camera a couple years ago (just after Erika was
born). I think we paid about $380 for the Kodak 3.1 mega-pixel camera.
I don’t believe we have had a single complaint about the camera. A
couple months ago the little piece of plastic that holds in the
batteries broke. The camera was still usable as long as you used your
thumb to hold the batteries in place. It was a pain so we had it sent
away for repair. Well� I found out on Sunday that Kodak would like $400
to fix the camera. Now let’s think about it, I paid $380 for the camera
and they want $400 to fix it. I don’t think I’ll be repairing the
camera. When I looked at the camera before sending it away it looked
like the whole case might need to be replaced but I guessed 100 bucks
tops.

The camera news was pretty minor. I didn’t stress at all over it and it isn’t why I’m waiting for September to end.

Sandy took the van in for the 40000 KM check-up. The dealership changed
the oil, rotated and balanced the tires, did something to the brakes,
and a wheel alignment. Five-hundred fifty dollars later we have our van
back. In the notes it said the power steering fluid is very dirty and
the engine needs to be wash. Both of these weren’t completed today.
Looking at the details of the bill I was shaking my head because we
spent $160 on the tires (rotation and alignment) without getting any
tires. I don’t doubt for a second that people question where all the
money goes when having software developed. I guess today is one of
those days that I sit in the customer’s seat and wonder the same thing.

The van repair bill was pretty minor (in the grand scheme of things). I
didn’t stress at all over it and that isn’t why I’m waiting for
September to end.

Wednesday’s I come home early because Sandy works in the evening. Today
was no different. I come home kiss the kids and Sandy hello, power up
the work laptop and log in to check my work email. Whoops, not today.
Today I had trouble trying to connect through the VPN. I thought my
wireless router was giving me grief so I went downstairs and threw it
against the wall a couple times (I mean cycle the power. I only threw
it against the wall in my head). Checking again, I then had a wireless
connection but still no connectivity to the internet. Ok I try one of
the other computers. Nope, nothing. I finally figured out I wasn’t
getting an external IP through my wireless router.

Reluctantly I decided to phone TELUS. Being in the middle of the labour
dispute I was convinced I’d be on hold longer than I would at Best Buy.
I have to say that I was very impressed. I didn’t have to wait for help
at all. After some troubleshooting and the tech checking my account
there was an answer. I recently signed up for the 2.5 Mb service
because the only thing it costs me is to lock in with TELUS (which I
did for 3 years). The problem was in order to receive the new service
my existing modem would have to be replaced (would have been nice to
know when signing up). The new modem was sent out last week (which I
learned about today). Once I get then modem I’m suppose to hook it up
and my account will be configured September 30th. No internet
connection until the 30th!

So please, wake me up, when September ends.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

