Mike’s Dump

October 18, 2005

Because it is good for you

Filed under: Home — mikesdump @ 3:17 pm

I went to the dentist today. Same old same old, actually that isn’t
true, it is the first time I can remember where the dentist didn’t find
some reason to bring me back and cause me all kinds of pain.

What was the same as every other visit was the hygienist asked if I floss. My standard answers are
1) Not as often as I should
2) Not regularly
Both of these statements are true. I know from every other time I have
gone to have my teeth cleaned I should be flossing at least once a day.
I don’t floss once a day. I decided to go with answer number two
today. Well the hygienist called me on it.

“How many times a week do you floss”, she asks.

“Umm, maybe 2 or 3 times”, I replied after a little squirming in my chair. I knew I was in for the lecture at this point.

“Flossing every other hour is important, blah, blah, blah�. If you
don’t floss you will loose all your teeth and you will turn into a
toothless mentally unstable mutant”.

Being called a toothless mentally unstable mutant is nothing I haven’t
heard before except for the toothless part so it didn’t really bother
me. After I left I started thinking about things we are told to do
because they are good for us.

1) Floss your teeth
2) Eat you vegetables
3) Exercise 3 times a week
4) Eat eggs� I mean don’t eat eggs (can we eat eggs again?)
5) Wear sun screen
6) Wear your seat belt
7) Don’t smoke

This of course is just a small list but what all the items have in
common is there are no immediate affects by not following this advice.
If my teeth fell out the first day after not flossing my dentures would
be sitting in a cup right now and I probably wouldn’t be giving this
much thought. Maybe this isn’t the best example.

What if after one week of no exercise and no vegetables I turned into a
wimpy four-eyed geek with a beer-belly. Hmmm� that reminds me I should
probably get the treadmill we bought setup. It appears using myself as
the subject isn’t working out very well.

What if after the first time my friend in high school took a drag of a
cigarette he dropped dead? Would I have still started smoking and kept
doing it for two years. I believe I can comfortably say I’d be a little
smarter than that.

I like to say I’m normally a proactive rather than a reactive person
but that isn’t true with all aspects of my life. I should go floss�
tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

