Mike’s Dump

February 22, 2006

Complex Software

Filed under: Code,Links — mikesdump @ 11:43 am

So I started reading Domain-Driven Design: Tackling Complexity in the
Heart of Software

tonight and I have only made it through the first couple of pages
before saying, “Argh”!

Here is my issue:

…Although all three projects delivered useful software, only one
achieved its ambitious objectives and produced complex software that
continued to evolve to meet the ongoing needs of the organization…

If you finish writing an application and sit back and say, “Wow, that’s
a complex piece of software”. Would you feel good about that? Is
something you’d brag about? I’d hope not.

At my previous job we set yearly goals with our managers. One goal my
manager set for me was to develop complex software. I didn’t think all
that much of it at the time because I thought she was just trying to
make my goal non-specific to my current project. Part of the process
was my manager reviewed the goals with her manager (if it sounds like a
lot of red tape it was). Anyways, her manager laughed when reading that
particular goal and said, “We don’t want anyone writing complex
software we want people solving complex problems”.

The goal of any software developer should be to develop the simplest
solution possible for a business problem no matter how complex the problem is.
By simple I don’t mean no structure or throw out all ideas of good
design.

Simple software is easier to support and for new developers to jump in
and become productive sooner. Sure sometimes complicated problems
require more complex solutions but I think how simple an application is
should be a measurement of success not how complex.

1 Comment »

  1. Preach on brother!! Too many places out there think that makes something ridiculously complicated = success. Strange metric if you ask me!

    Comment by Justice — February 23, 2006 @ 9:23 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

